I’m Not Crazy; I Just See Things Before They Happen

By: Jessica Jung

Call it an extreme case of déjà vu, or maybe even question my mental state for a second, but I am not crazy and I don’t believe in psychics.  For over a decade now, I’ve been very inaccurately trying to explain whatever it is that’s been happening to me.  My go-to explanation is usually that it’s a feeling of déjà vu because that’s most relatable to others and makes me seem less creepy and psychotic.

While this type of experience doesn’t happen often enough for me to joke that I’m psychic (I promise, I’m not weird), when it does occur, it creeps me out every time.  If you’ve ever seen the Disney Channel show, That’s So Raven, you’d know that the eponymous character is indeed psychic and has frequent visions; she’d foresee an event, and surely enough, at some point in the episode, that premonition would become a reality.  Well, that’s the closest that I can ever get to accurately describing what happens to me, just on a much less intense level.

It primarily happens in my dreams.  For example, I’ll dream (or foresee) that a conversation or an event will happen that doesn’t usually occur in my daily routine.  The moment will make sense in the dream and typically involve people I know, but will also be unique enough that it couldn’t happen in just any moment.  The creepiest part is that I never know when these dreams will become realities, and sometimes I don’t even get full moments—I’ll get snippets or just a line of a conversation and need to wait for them to happen.  There are times when these events don’t happen until weeks later, while some occur the next day.

I can’t always think of examples when people ask for them, which, of course, only lends to the argument that I’m insane.  (I’m not!)  But like I noted earlier, it’s almost like a sense of déjà vu, which is why I can’t remember them after they happen.  Once that moment passes, the experience and feelings pass along with it, so I can no longer recall which moments of my life were initially parts of dreams.  All I know is that these experiences typically occur when I’m interacting with or talking to others because I always end up pointing out how the moment feels like it’s happened before.  That’s usually when the other person gives me a funny look and questions my mental stability.

However, after doing some research, it turns out I’m not the only one who experiences these feelings of déjà vu. (I always thought my mom was lying to make me feel better when she “understood” what I was trying to explain.)  According to this site, precognition is not completely odd in nature, and it frequently occurs in one’s dreams!  Even better, the site claims that we all have psychic abilities.  It just happens that some peoples’ abilities are heightened.  See, I told you I wasn’t insane.  Maybe you just need to learn how to better tap into your abilities so that we can foresee the future together.

7 thoughts on “I’m Not Crazy; I Just See Things Before They Happen

  1. This will probably make me seem a bit crazy as well, but I actually agree with what that site says about everyone being a little bit psychic. When I was much younger, I noticed a few weird coincidences that made me wonder. I was one of those kinds who zoned out in class all the time, and there were multiple times when I’d start thinking about a specific episode of a cartoon, only to go home and see that that exact episode was being played on TV. Which seems like a ridiculous thing to be able to predict – more likely my younger self was just blowing small coincidences out of proportion, and I’m remembering these occurrences as being much more frequent than they actually were. Still, little me was convinced, and I have to admit that it does make me wonder…

  2. Precognition is something that I’ve never heard of before, but it’s so cool that you have this unique ability! I totally get what you mean about how a moment passes and somehow you lose the ability to explain it to people. My dreams are that way, which is why I can never explain what was happening in my dream by the time I wake up. On a side note, I’m writing this comment at 9:59 PM on 11/30/2016 but Kathryn’s comment previously posted above mine says she wrote it on December 1st 2016… Creepy.

  3. First off, you are definitely not crazy! I am jealous of your capabilities and curious to read about others similar premonitions. It seems really interesting to me that every humans are capable of some psychic capabilities. I am curious to hear specifically how your memories (or lack of) compare to others, and if you ever have a premonition about something more than just a quick conversation. Interesting what the future holds!

  4. This is extremely ironic because my mom last week decided to tell me about her dreams and how she has this strong feeling/ premonition about something thats going to happen to me, so she was telling me what she thought I should do. Honestly, I did think she was a little crazy at first but then she started saying some parts of her dream that were very accurate with the encounter I later had. Being a psych major, I used to think a lot of this was hindsight bias or even false memory but I am really starting to reconsider… curious of any specific examples or stories!

  5. There have been so many times where I feel as though I have seen a certain scenario play out before, or have heard a certain conversation. Although, unlike you, I can’t pinpoint it to a dream. I just have weird feelings like “this is not the first time I’ve seen this situation.” It’s interesting that you can actually remember when you’ve seen it before! That’s so cool! And it’s interesting to hear that most people have psychic abilities – it kind of reminds me of Dr. Strange a bit. Everyone has the power, you just have to tap into it.

  6. I think I have this exact same thing too – and my boyfriend actually does too. I see things in my dreams and then the exact same thing happens very soon afterwards, usually a day or two. Mine are almost always conversations with people and I know what they are going to say before they say it. I also know what I am going to say and, strangely, I feel like I HAVE to say what I said in my dream or it will upset the natural order of things or something. I wish I could see something useful, like the answers to a test I’m about to take but nevertheless I think it’s a super cool thing that happens to me, and to you too!

Leave a Reply

