A (Very) Haunted Homeland

By: Azalea Hinojosa

The following stories were first narrated to me around the age of 7 or 8. They belong to my mom and dad. Both took place during a visit in Mexico. If I ever think about what they told me for too long, the fear I felt more than a decade ago begins to rush back.

(Note: My mom was reluctant to go into too many details. To this day, she still gets chills.)

MOM:

“The house I stayed at in Mexico belonged to my brother-in-law’s mother, who had passed away prior to our visit. There weren’t enough rooms for all of us, so they set up a bed for my sister and I in this hallway area that connected to the kitchen.

In the middle of the night, I got woken up by my sister. She shook me awake and hysterically asked “Do you hear that?!”

It was raining outside but that didn’t matter. I could clearly hear what sounded like someone washing dishes in the middle of the night and in the dark.

On another night, when we were sleeping in an actual room, we heard someone knock on our door. We said “come in”, but no one ever did.

DAD:

“December, 1991. I was 15. That Christmas break, we drove down to Leon, Mexico. We stayed there for one week. It was in Leon, while staying at my stepfather’s parent’s house, that I had the most frightening experience of my life.

Like most other houses in that neighborhood, this one was old, cold, long and narrow; cold because it was December and all of the houses were made out of concrete with no insulation.

This is an example of what the house looked like.

This is an example of what the house looked like.

The room in which Rick (my brother) and I slept in was dark and windowless. We shared a queen size bed with thick, heavy Mexican cobijas (blankets) to keep us warm.

The first night there we were fatigued from the long drive and I slept like a baby. But the second night was the night I will never forget.

I will admit that we were warned by my stepfather’s parents about strange sounds coming from the kitchen and how others have experienced a strong presence of an unnatural being in that house. My stepdad’s nephew mentioned that once he thought he felt someone sitting next to him and quickly jumped in fear because he knew he was home alone.

Despite the fact that these stories were now in my subconscious, what I experienced was 100% genuine.

After touring the city on the second day, we walked back to the house. It was now time for bed. We all went to our rooms and fell asleep. I have no clue what time it was, but that night I randomly woke up. I was very cold and tried adjusting the blanket. As l did so, I looked up and at the foot of my bed there stood a woman I didn’t know. It was a very distinct image.

She was glowing due to a beam of light that was coming from a top corner of the room. She didn’t appear threatening but this strange woman scared me beyond belief! I tried waking up Rick but he didn’t budge. So I closed my eyes and prayed endlessly for her to go away. I eventually prayed myself to sleep.

Then morning came.

I told my family what I had seen. Suddenly, I noticed that I had a super high fever. I had to spend the rest of the week in bed, recovering.

Years after my stepdad’s parents passed away, the house was sold. The new owners uncovered a nice surprise when doing some construction in the kitchen. They found gold coins. They were specifically centenarios which are Mexican coins from the 1800’s. I don’t know how much it was but enough for it to be big news.

In Mexican culture it is believed that if a ghost of some type appears to you it is for a reason. Now, I don’t know why that woman appeared to me, but I will never forget her.”

 

 

5 thoughts on “A (Very) Haunted Homeland

  1. Wow, this is a spine-chilling story! It’s very creepy how both your mother and father have had paranormal run ins at their relatives’ houses. Do you know if these sightings happened around the same time as each other? It would be interesting to know becasue maybe they are somehow connected!

  2. That is a truly creepy story! I do not know much about the history of Mexico, but I think that whatever is haunting that house could be connected to past. I remember learning that spirits can sometimes be attached to objects. Maybe the spirit is connected to the old coins? Or perhaps it’s the mother that had passed away in the house. Either way, it is truly spine-chilling as Sally said above me.

  3. I am so happy you shared this story! It is so creepy and was quite an interesting read! Hearing stories like this scares me, as I hope I am never in a situation where I see a ghost because I will not be able to recover! I am terrified at night, and I often wake up around 2 or 3 am every night and get scared looking around my room! Great story though, I wonder who lived in the house prior to your dad’s stepdad’s parents.

  4. Wow! I think it’s so much creepier that your mom and her sister both heard the weird noises and the knocking – that rules out the possibility that one of them was just hearing things. It’s so random that a ghost would be washing dishes in the middle of the night – what could that possibly mean? Do you think the gold coins from your dad’s story are connected to the ghost he saw?

  5. I think stories that are passed down through family are the best ones – my grandmother has a lot of really scary stories from living in the middle of nowhere on a farm in Ireland and she loves to share them with me. Like mentioned above, I wonder if this ghost was from the time period that the coins were from and she was killed by someone living in the house before your family – just a theory but a creepy one and sounds like the beginning to a movie! I hope your parents have a lot of stories to share with you – not just scary ones!

Leave a Reply

