The Snowman

By: Charlie DeJonge

screen-shot-2016-11-18-at-12-31-56-pm

Unfortunately I have had more experiences in the past twenty years with disturbing figures and places than I would have liked, but it allows me to share my stories with you. The story you will read, still haunts me to this day. When I return home, I often find it difficult to go, or even look at where the event happened. I wish I could go back to that winter night and force myself to stay inside watching South Park and just tune out the noises, but I can’t and the only reason I am reminding myself of it is for a few extra credit points to boost my GPA.

When I was about fifteen years old, my parents had gone out for dinner with friends and left me alone. As a freshman in high school, I enjoyed the freedom that came with a night to myself. I planned on sitting on my couch all night and watching South Park reruns until they came back. A bit of a layout of my house, my family room and kitchen are one big room and look out over my backyard. The entire west wall has floor-to-ceiling windowpanes and the couch has its back to the windows.

As the fifth episode of South Park came on and I moved to the kitchen for food, a loud thud broke Cartman’s voice and made me drop my Pringles. I looked at the windows but didn’t see anything. Then another thud. I walked back to the couch cautiously and all of a sudden, a big snowball hit the window in front of me that threw me onto the ground. Very funny, must be the neighbors. I opened one of the doors and yelled out to them but didn’t get any answer. I turned on the porch lights but couldn’t see anyone. Then the thud came again at the same spot and another snowball fell. Where were they?

I locked the doors (because I wasn’t going to let anyone in and because I’m not playing the role of a cliché horror victim) and went to my parents room to turn on the spotlight that would hopefully reveal my neighbors hiding in bushes. I should’ve just gone back to South Park. I turned on the light and there he was. Gotcha. I went back downstairs and with the light still on yelled over to my neighbor. But again, no answer. So with the light still on and the other doors locked, I threw on my coat and boots and trekked across the snow to talk to my neighbor. At least I thought it would be. I was about ten feet away from the man when I noticed something was off. Not only was he wearing jeans and a t-shirt in the winter but he just had a distant gaze to his face. The more I say this the more I can see him. His dark eyes just looked past me to my house and to the window I assumed he was hitting. His hands, dangled lifelessly by his side and he swayed ever so slightly. I backed away without taking my eyes off him. I called my parents and they came home as soon as I told them what was happening.

My dad had gone out to look for the man but didn’t find anything except for my tracks. They saw the marks to the window and said it must have been the neighbors. But I know what I saw. I know that some man was watching me that night. That something was wrong with him and that I still can picture him in that corner when I go home.

I wish for none of you to ever experience anything like this. It is something that has stayed with me for years now and continues to frighten me. I am not sure where he went, what he wanted or who he was, but I know that I never wish to see him again.

6 thoughts on “The Snowman

  1. This story is definitely chilling to the bones. I can’t imagine being in this situation, let alone leaving the house! I would have for sure locked myself in a closet until my parents came home. Great story!

  2. Wow, this is terrifying – no wonder you said that you didn’t want to relive it! When you say that your parents didn’t find anything except for your tracks – does that mean that the man didn’t leave any footprints behind in the snow? If that’s what happened, then that seems like the creepiest part to me!

  3. Thank you for reliving your story for our reading (and the extra credit of course). I had something similar happen, with someone throwing rocks at my window but I did NOT have the courage to go outside and confront whoever it was! I even have a similar living room/kitchen layout with the floor to ceiling windows that make me feel like someone is watching me. I imagine this was even scarier since it was the winter and cold outside. What’s scariest, I think, is that you’re not entirely sure what he was if he didn’t leave tracks and seemed to be almost slenderman-like. I hope you never experienced or experience the sight of him again!

  4. What in the world?! This story was beautifully told and chilled me to my bones. From the title I was expecting you to go outside and just find a snowman, which would still be creepy, but the fact that an actual PERSON was outside is just horrifying!!!!! Did you call the police? Did you ever ask your neighbors if they were in your yard that night? Wow, I don’t think I’d ever be able to be home alone again after that.

  5. I thought this story was going to be about an actual snowman too. That is so creepy. I wouldn’t have had the guts to go outside at all. I would be way too scared. I wonder if any of your neighbors have seen the man or have had the same thing happen to them.

  6. Wow, your story gave me goosebumps! Something like this happening while I’m home alone is one of my biggest fears. But I would never have the courage to go outside and confront the person! I think the worst part is how he didn’t leave any footprints in the snow, becasue it leaves me wondering whether this was a real person or whether it was something supernatural.

Leave a Reply

