Fear the Freddy

boe 1

By Allyson Boe

When I was in elementary school, I spent a majority of my free time on what I thought to be the coolest video game website ever, addictinggames.com. There are thousands of games to choose from, created by over thousands of developers, but somehow I made the mistake of thinking that an “addicting game” with the title, Escape from 1428 Elm Street, would be a good idea. I wound up playing what has scarred me for the past seven years.

I’m not a big fan of anything terrifying to begin with, so I’m not even sure how I made it past the title screen. I had heard the name Freddy Krueger before, and so had my best friend, Jenna, who played by my side, but I never knew his story until we managed to spend an entire day over our summer break trying to beat the game.

When you begin the game, you type in your name and your birthday (which you later see on your tomb stone in Freddy’s backyard). Your friends supposedly dare you to go into the ominous house on Elm Street and you think, “what could possibly go wrong?” but once you walk through the front door of the house, there’s no turning back. Until you can defeat Freddy, you’re trapped, and trust me this isn’t easy.

Boe 2Boe 3Take your time and explore the creepy, old house, picking up strange objects that you will need later on. As you move from room to room, search for anything that will help you escape Elm Street. Don’t be surprised by the excessive amounts of blood you will find in each area you enter (and no, the graphics don’t get any better either). But whatever you do, be careful not to fall asleep in the bedroom that looks oh so comfortable (well, not really). If you do, Freddy might just make his way into your dreams where you must defeat him before you can even wake up and escape from the house.

On top of all of that, even after you think you’ve made it out of the house, you have to defeat Freddy one last time in his yard. Look out; he will be coming at you with his claws. Use the gun you picked up from his house to hold him off. Once he’s down, douse him in holy water. Maybe, just maybe, you might make it out alive.

To tell you the truth I haven’t played Escape from 1428 Elm Street since that summer going into fifth grade. I can still remember Jenna and I sitting in front of my computer monitor for all those hours, wondering if we would ever make it out of the house alive. When we finally stopped playing (no, we never actually beat it), I couldn’t stop thinking about Freddy Krueger. Somewhere in my ten-year-old mind I was convinced that if I went to bed that night, or any night at that, he would make his way into my dreams. For the remainder of that summer, I slept with all the lights on in my bedroom. And when that didn’t work, I found myself retreating to my brother’s bedroom or my parent’s bedroom where I slept until school began up again in the fall.

But when it comes down to it, the choice is yours. Will you choose to play? Or won’t you? You don’t believe in urban legends now, do you?

http://www.freewebarcade.com/game/escape-from-1428-elm-street/

3 thoughts on “Fear the Freddy

  1. I find this post to be pretty interesting. On the first day of class several people listed video games as their favorite horror account. This surprised me because I have never played a scary video game and have trouble visualizing them as particularly scary. This could be perhaps because I imagine the effects to not be good enough to scare me and I think if i started to get scared I would turn it off. Your post, unlike my imagination, emphasized the addictiveness of this game. I never really considered this when thinking about video games and horror.

  2. I thought this was interesting to write on because, while I expected video game posts, I assumed most of them would be the modern high definition ones like Slender-Man or Dead Space. The fact you’re still struck by a video game that’s older, clearly more fake, reminds me of the lasting effects of older horror movies like Psycho where the effects clearly don’t seem realistic to us anymore, but they’re still chilling. As for me, I refuse to watch or play or anything regarding the Nightmare on Elm Street. Falling asleep is the only thing I’m completely unafraid of.

  3. I played this when i was younger too! I remember the music being one of the scariest things about this game. With the creepy laughing and the tense beat. I never actually beat the game though. I remember being stuck on a part and just giving up. This is a really well made game for its time though, even if it doesn’t look great. The music and atmosphere really set the mood and the monster’s absence from most of the game creates tension. I remember there being a game just like this except for Jason instead of Freddy, and it was equally as well made as this one. I’ll see if I can find that and maybe write my own blog post on it.

Leave a Reply

