Happy Halloween!

By: Gina Brandolino

IMG_2133In honor of Halloween, here’s my head in a jar! A friend, colleague, and person never to mess with at Sweetland saw the instructions for how to pull this off earlier this year in an online list of practical jokes for April Fools Day and showed it to me.  We thought it was a better Halloween prank, so saved it up until now . Also, we used the photocopier instead of using a photo editor. (Side note:  it’s harder than you think to get a 180 degree photocopy of your head.)  Turned out pretty great, I think!

IMG_2172The photo above shows my quart-sized “home edition” head-in-a-jar, but to the left here is the one my friend and I put in the refrigerator at Sweetland. It’s in a bigger jar and, because of the vagaries of photocopying, this one turned out a little stranger–doesn’t it actually look like there are two of my heads crammed in there? I find that at school, it’s always good to have a few extra heads on hand.

Happy Halloween to all, but especially to my students this term, who have helped me truly get into the spirit of scary!

3 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

  1. I actually laughed at the picture of the jar in the refrigerator wondering how I would respond to this kind of prank. This is a good example of the way that horror makes a good platform for practical jokes in everyday life. Why is being scared considered funny to us? What is it that we get out of scaring other people?

  2. I think one of the reasons we like to scare other people is because when you are the one scaring someone else you are aware of how harmless it is. We like to ignite mild fear into others because it reminds us of a time when we felt fear; oddly enough it is comforting to know that everyone has been there at one point or another. Fear can be friendly sometimes, it can jumpstart your emotions and make you feel elated.

  3. I think I like scaring people is because I can laugh about it and there is nothing they can do about it. I use my brothers weaknesses to scare them, so I know what I can use to scare them, I guess this makes me feel like i have power, aside from the fact I am older than they are, I like to know there is always something I can use to control them without getting in so much trouble with my mom. As to why it’s a joke, I have no idea. I always thought it was funny to scare, but not be scared. To me it’s a constant battle with my little brothers, so it’s kind of like a war between us, which is why it’s funny. I would think it could even be that everyone think different about why being scared/ scarring is funny.

Leave a Reply

