Seven Gables: The Road to Fear

By: Olivia Smyth

I’ve always been one to believe in urban legends to an extent but not until visiting Seven Gables junior year of high school did I believe in them extremely. Michigan isn’t typically a spooky place but this contradicts the normal stereotype. In Dansville, Michigan, Seven Gables Road haunts the believers and wastes the time of the doubters.

There are several different stories about what made the road become haunted in the first place. However, I have heard one that makes most sense based on what I have experienced when going to this haunted road. The story begins a long time ago; there was a lady who lived two miles back on Seven Gables Road. She was interested in witchcraft, so she put a curse on the road. The curse was if you heard someone scream, the last person to get to the fence at the beginning of the road and be the last to jump over the fence would die. A few years had passed and she had forgotten all about this curse she had put on Seven Gables Road. Apparently, she heard a baby scream and so she ran to jump over the fence and two months later she was dead.

Almost a year later, a man, his wife, and his two kids moved into that same house. The man is said to have went mentally insane and burned down the house with his family inside. He then continued to grab a shotgun and walk down the road planning to shoot himself, but instead found a rope on a tree and he hung himself.

I have visited Seven Gables three times and each time has been different. The first time, I thought it was such a joke because all we did was get maybe 20 steps down the road and then turned around because my friends were too scared. The second time, we went a little bit further, maybe a mile, and my friend claims she saw a lady in a white dress off in the distance. This makes sense because the old lady that put the curse on the road is said to have been wearing a white dress when she heard the baby scream. The last time I went, we went the full two miles to the end of the road and although we didn’t see any remains of a house, on the walk there, I saw a rope hanging from a tree in the woods. Of course, this could just be someone trying to scare all of the believers but after seeing that rope and hearing screams in the distance, I am convinced that what everyone says about Seven Gables Road is true.

10 thoughts on “Seven Gables: The Road to Fear

  1. I love stories like this! Even if it isn’t true, people go to those places to be scared and have fun. I both attended and worked at a camp in Rose City, MI and as a camper you hear all kinds of stories about the park the camp is in. When you’re a kid it’s really scary, even as an adult these stories still give me chills, but they also make me feel nostalgic about camp. Great post, and I definitely want to check out the road.

  2. This place sounds like a place my friends and I would go just to be scared (good thing I can run faster than at least one of my friends)….! I have never of this particular place and, strangely enough, I cannot think of any other similar urban legends off the top of my head. I could not agree more: Michigan is a relatively non spooky state but it is still pretty scary sometimes. This thought freaks me out so much because eventually I plan to live in a different state (no where with open roads and log cabins in the woods alone).

  3. When you heard the screams, did you try to run over the fence? I’m pretty superstitious so I have no idea what I would have done. I’m really slow though so I probably would have been the last person over the fence… It also reminds me of stories from the website bitey.com. The website is mainly for different series of animations, but there’s a section about true stories that the creator has been told over the years. Apparently there’s a haunted road in Australia or New Zealand (I can’t confirm it right now because the website is under maintenance. I could be entirely wrong), and so many bad things happen on the road that truckers never stop on the road out of fear. Here’s a link to the website, so hopefully when it’s not under maintenance, people can read them. Some of the stories have stayed in my mind for years now. http://bitey.com/category/stories/

  4. What does it look like? Is it all land? I’ve never heard of Seven Gables Road before and I’m from Michigan. Did any of you run when you heard the screams? Did anyone else out of all your friends see anything weird or scary (besides the lady in the white dress?).

  5. For some reason, this reminds me of playing “Bloody Mary” with my friends when I was younger. To play, you would go into a bathroom at night. If the moon was bright, you’d have to cover the windows with a pillow or a towel. You turn the lights off, stand in front of the mirror, and spin three times repeating “Bloody Mary.” When you opened your eyes and looked in the mirror, you were supposed to see Mary (as in the Christian Mary, Mother of Jesus) kneeling bloodied in the reflection. I think I was reminded of this because you said you chickened out at first when you were walking up to Seven Gables. I could never go through with Bloody Mary; I always became too frightened and couldn’t continue.

  6. I’m so confused. Why would you continually subject yourself to this horror? Living on the edge I see. In situations like these, trying to mess with an urban legend, I love how the story creates the entire context of your situation, and nothing else. What did the road look like? does the story makes sense in the setting? I think that figuring these questions out helps easy the horror.

  7. Stories like this creep me out so much. Maybe because once in high school, a couple of friends and I went to a supposedly haunted area in Rockford, Michigan called Hell’s Bridge after hearing a bunch of other friends going to the place and seeing things. Apparently, the story is that in the mid 1800s, children went missing and long story short, an old man named Elias Friske was the one who had kidnapped the children and killed them (I will spare you the gory details). Once the townspeople found him, he was hung on the bridge people now call Hell’s Bridge. I was already freaked out hearing this story, but to actually be going to the place? Nope. I stayed in the car the whole time. None of us could come up with the courage to get out of the car, and suddenly the car headlights went out and we all were screaming and freaking out while the driver quickly drove to find civilization. We eventually stopped at a gas station to collect ourselves and figured out that the car lights had gone out because they automatically turn off after a while. What scares me though is that I swear I could hear a high pitched sound right before the lights went out. I don’t know if it was just because I was super scared and hearing things, but I know that I never want to go back to that place, especially late at night when it’s pitch black outside.

  8. I love stories similar to yours. I feel like middle schoolers and high schoolers always have a fascination with abandoned or supposively haunted places near their homes. I was the same way when I was younger, and always wanted to go to this abandoned insane asylum. While I never actually made it there, I would never ever have the urge to go at this age. As I get older, I get more scared of the unknown and the paranormal. I wonder what it is about young age that deters our fear. Are we more brave when we’re young or are we just bored?

  9. I love stories like this! So scary! I can’t believe you were brave enough to go. I love to hear about stories like this but I am always too scared to actually go and see if they are haunted. I feel like I am pushing it and messing with something that I shouldn’t be. When someone you trust has actually had an encounter with something like this and truly believes it it makes you question your beliefs and almost want to experience it for yourself. It is scary and thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

