Contact Between This Side….and The Other!

By: John Chalbeck

On September 7th of this year, just a little less than 2 months ago, my 7 year old son and I lost a very special someone in a sudden and tragic accident. Someone who was so close to us that it changed our daily lives forever. No child should ever lose a parent so young! Since that day, we have been trying to cope with the loss the best we can while trying to keep the same routine as possible. After such a loss it is virtually impossible, but all we can do is try to persevere.

Ever since the accident, needless to say, I have been overly stressed, which might explain some of the new phenomenon I have been experiencing. I have this reoccurring dream- literally I have had it every single night. The dream depicts the last moments of that fateful morning as seen through the eyes of our beloved passenger. That is when I wake up drenched in sweat, usually between 4am-4:45am, it is very punctual. It is so weird because it could be freezing in the house but by the time I wake up I have soaked the sheets with sweat. I usually go to bed around 1am so I know that I am just entering REM sleep when the dream hits me.

I keep getting this feeling that the door to the other side has been opened to let whatever unfinished business through to me so that I might be able to understand our special someone’s message. This dream is so disturbing and real. Before I wake up the last thing I hear is, “help me.”

It is not that I’m scared of a ghost. I would not be scared of any ghost unless it could physically harm someone I love or me. Just being next to a ghost does not scare me. I have heard these stories about how some ghosts caused physical harm to people. The movie An American Haunting was supposedly a true story about a ghost that actually caused a death. Obviously I don’t think this is the case in my situation, but I feel I am being contacted through my dreams. How can I have the same dream and conclusion to that dream every night? What does it mean? I am not scared of what has been happening, but I’m curious. Has anyone ever had an experience with a medium, or psychic? What was your experience? Do you think this reoccurring dream is just my brain’s way of dealing with the sudden tragic event, or it just may be that a door to the spiritual world has been opened and a special someone on the other side really wants me to help them say something to the little boy they never got to say goodbye to. How long could this disturbing dream reoccur for? Every night…forever..?

10 thoughts on “Contact Between This Side….and The Other!

  1. I am so sorry for you and your family’s loss. As for your dream, it’s very strange for a dream to reoccur every night, I’ve only ever had the same dream a few times and never on consecutive nights. I’m not sure if it’s you brain’s way of coping or if it’s a door to another dimension/spiritual world; but my only advice to you is to not go see a medium or a psychic. It’s not worth the money, especially because they might not be the real deal; and if they are, they could wrench the door to the spiritual world open further. I hope that this dream is not affecting the rest of your family, and I hope that you will eventually be able to find peace in sleep.

  2. I am so sorry for your family’s loss and hope you and your son are doing better.
    But on the topic of your dream, I think having this same reoccurring dream every night might be a sign that the person is trying to reach out to you to tell you something important. I know people are skeptical about deceased loved ones coming back in your dreams to tell you things or just to visit, but I think that it does happen sometimes. My mom tells me has been visited by recently deceased family members in her dreams in the past couple years. It’s scary to think that this could be happening, but it could also be due to the stress that you are experiencing. As to going to see a medium or physic, I don’t think it would be a good idea. That always seems to be a bad idea (although I’ve only seen it go wrong in movies and tv shows).

  3. I am deeply sorry for you and your son’s loss. I have never experienced a loss of someone close to me before so I don’t know how it feels, but I hope I can at least help with what you’re asking. Ameliamc mentions how it could be strange that you are having the same dream every night, but I don’t really think it is. Based on my experiences, it could just be because the person is on your mind frequently and that although you may not have enough time to think about it during the day when you’re stressing, your mind is bringing it back it in your dreams. Once when I was 3 or 4, I had a terrifying experience that I couldn’t get out of my thoughts. I had the same exact nightmare over and over again since then, and they only stopped once I got to 7th grade. What I’m trying to say is that although I am a firm believer of ghosts, messages, and the supernatural in general, I think your dreams aren’t of that genre. If they do develop into something more where the person is actually talking to you or having a conversation about your child, then that’d be my proof that it’s supernatural.

  4. First off, I would like to state that I am so sorry for your tragic loss and it seems like you and your son are dealing with it as best you can. Secondly, I think that it is completely plausible that you are being reached by your loved one. Have you tried meditating before you sleep? I think this might help you possibly have a more lucid dream in which you can ask your own questions to the ghost. It would be incredibly interesting if you found out how to make your own lucid dreams and to figure out how to communicate with this spirit. If you find that this is difficult for you, you should definitely talk to a medium. I think that there are plenty of services around Ann Arbor that would be more than happy to help you. It could be that the nightmares are some sort of post-traumatic reaction to the death and might be a coping mechanism that your mind is using. Again, I am so sorry for your loss.

  5. I am so sorry for your loss. My best friend just lost his mother to cancer, and he have been trying to help him cope with his loss, but never experiencing such pain and loss, I cannot even relate. I definitely believe that your dreams are helping you contact with your beloved and significant other. Like you, I don’t believe in ghosts, but this is definitely her reaching out to you, as her life has been tragically shortened. I’m so sorry.

  6. I am sorry for your loss. The recurring dream is definitely not a foreign concept to me. Normally I am rather anti-supernatural; however, given recent circumstances I am beginning to question that. I also have never been to a medium or psychic, but I suggest you do because there is definitely a reason you having this dream over and over and there is no better way to find out if it is a spirit or ghost unless you try. Personally, this definitely sounds likes someone wants to contact you. I hope these dreams do not continue forever and that eventually you can sleep through a whole night.

  7. I’m so sorry for your loss. Going through something like that is so tough and it sounds like you and your son are doing the best you can do. On behalf of the dreams, I think that this is the special someone trying to get in contact with you. I have never personally been to a medium but I have a friend who’s brother died and her parents went to see a medium. They have shared some stories but not anything that explains to me how everything works especially since I’ve never been through it. I hope that you continue to cope as best as you can and that these dreams don’t continue forever. I think it’s good that you aren’t afraid of ghosts because that would make the whole situation worse. Again, I am so so sorry for your loss!

  8. First of all, I am so sorry that this had to happen to you. Second, I completely believe in the idea of having someone visit you in your dreams. I don’t think it’s necessarily a ghost, but I do think it could be a sort of imprint of the person that you lost. Often times, I’ve heard of it being comforting to the people who are visited. My mother used to have vivid dreams of her grandmother coming and speaking with her in the family room where they used to spend time together. These dreams were comforting and not at all terrifying. My grandfather also has spoken about seeing a dead loved one in his dreams. His father was a soldier in WWII, and battled depression and alcoholism throughout his life afterwards. He eventually died of liver failure, and my grandfather would see him in his dreams, drunk and stumbling around alone in a field. At the end of this dream, my great-grandfather would turn and stare directly at my grandfather and tell him to “leave immediately.” Perhaps it has to do with the nature of the death, or perhaps it’s a personal thing, but either way these kinds of dreams can be terrifying.

  9. I am so sorry for your loss, and I hope you and your son will get better. This isn’t the first case that I’ve heard about something like this (in regards to the dream) happening. My mother, grandmother, roommate, and even my roommate’s mother often say that sometimes dreams are God’s way of trying tell you or warn you about something, or a way that someone may be trying to get in contact with you. I haven’t had any contact with a psychic before, but my roommate’s mother has the ability to know what will happen before it actually happens. An example to explain more of what I mean is that my roommate was once friends with a girl in high school, and my roommate and the girl did everything together. My roommate would wait for her to get out of her after school program (even though my roommate was out of class) just so they could catch the bus together, they came to school together everyday, left school together everyday, I even saw them together everyday during my 5th period. All of a sudden, the girl just stopped talking to my roommate, and they weren’t friends anymore. My roommate told her mother about the situation, and her mother responded by saying “I figured that this would happen months ago, but I did not want to say anything because I did not want you to think differently about the girl”. Her mother has done this on several occasions. In your case, I think (and I’m sure that my roommate’s mother would more than likely agree) that your special someone may be trying to tell you something, or give you a message through your dreams, or maybe give you more insight on what happened in the accident. Keep your head up!

Leave a Reply

